Get a Quote Customer Login
  • We're here to help 24/7
  • Contact Us
  • Customer reviews

    Overall Customer Rating

    International Health Insurance

    4.1 2572
    • 5 Star
    • 4 Star
    • 3 Star
    • 2 Star
    • 1 Star
    30 reviews over the past 12 months

    Silver

    January 2019

    Very pleasant and professional staff; exceptionally fast processing.

    Somewhat more expensive than some others

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    January 2019

    Ease of use/ clarity of plans.

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Gold

    Roderick, Abu Dhabi |January 2019

    The sales rep was very transparent

    Price. As a retiree with an agenda of world traveling, I would of liked to see an option that your home country of Canada could be your “mailing address” as long as you did not spend more than 180 days in that country.

    • Purchase Experience
      7
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    Nic, Cape Town |December 2018

    Very responsive sales person although he did not phone me at the appointed time to discuss the final quote. I had to e-mail him to remind him we had a call arranged. The options were easy to understand and the brochure gave good details

    I was completely upfront disclosing pre-existing conditions and do understand a waiting period may be enforced. However I don't find it satisfactory for the sales person not to be able to give me an answer as to whether the claims on the condition will ever be allowed. My current medical aid imposed a 1 year period, since the condition is occasional removal of small BCC's on my skin do to sun exposure. This is a simple procedure and so I feel I should now when the claims ban will be lifted

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    Moon / Pennsylvania |December 2018

    The medical coverage benefits are exactly what we were wanting to purchase for our daughter who will be attending a semester of college in Ireland. The Cigna representative did a great job explaining options and answering our questions. Very professional, friendly, and detailed.

    None

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Silver

    December 2018

    Your agent was professional and courteous

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Silver

    Rubina |December 2018

    Personalized service and good feedback.

    too persistent at bringing with email messages

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Silver

    Newport |December 2018

    friendly, well informed, patient and good at explaining

    none

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      7

    Gold

    Bethedda Md |December 2018

    Time spent answering questions and follow up

    Nothing

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Silver

    J, Cebu, Philippines |December 2018

    It all went very quick and smooth by telephone. No medical examination required. Friendly service!

    I would prefer rather to be pay by (automatic) bank transfer instead of credit card but it is not really a big inconvenience

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Gold

    Kevin, Costa Rica |December 2018

    Gordon, the sales rep was able to answer all my questions without having to look things up or ask someone else. Well done and thanks for making this easy for us. Best regards to all

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      6
    • Overall Rating
      7

    Silver

    Cadiz |December 2018

    Very helpful sales person. He listened and was very responsive.

    None

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Gold

    Dirk, Toronto |December 2018

    Professional and speedy responses from agent.

    Exclusions

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Gold

    December 2018

    friendly and competent, personal agent

    price option not easy to compare. small tool to play with would be nice

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    Michael, Bangkok |December 2018

    cigna home page and service

    Till now nothing.

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    John, Bloomington |December 2018

    Peter Primero, with whom I was in contact represented me very well with the process.

    Not getting all the coverage I would have preferred.

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Silver

    Matthew, San Diego, Ca |December 2018

    Clarity of benefits Friendly customer service

    Lack of pre-existing coverage options

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    Emily, Beussels |December 2018

    Easy to get a quote and purchase online

    Unnecessary phone follow up. If I needed to talk on the phone about my plan I would have requested a call back. It would be nice if you offered shorter term plans (4 months, 6 months) for those who travel for shorter periods but still want to be covered.

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      6

    Silver

    December 2018

    flexible

    None really

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Silver

    December 2018

    Online purchase No waiting period on the policy Different options i.e. deductible, Out Of Pocket

    Still a bit pricey even with the advantages provided

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      7

    Gold

    December 2018

    Very easy and intuitive website

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Gold

    Eirini, Berlin, Germany |December 2018

    The friendly and very informative interaction with the sales executive

    I haven't used any of the benefits yet so I cannot answer

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Gold

    December 2018

    Hands-on approach where you get to talk to an actual person versus doing everything electronically online.

    Communication with the insurance agent was a bit difficult due to time zone differences. However, the agent did her very best to accommodate the differences. It was also a bit difficult to determine what exactly was covered in the base plan and what needed to be added in order to include simple things like yearly physicals (which I think should be part of the base plan)...

    • Purchase Experience
      6
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      7

    Gold

    Sarah, Philadelphia |November 2018

    I can get my vaccinations covered within a short period of time of starting the plan. I can have a few months of coverage in the U.S., as well as numerous other countries on the same plan.

    I wish it was a little bit less expensive.

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Gold

    Gabriella, Milano |November 2018

    Good and fast response to all my needs and questions about the plan

    I expected more cover for eyes and dental

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Gold

    Joel |November 2018

    Great personality, took the time to explain all my options and how it works. Very positive experience.

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Gold

    Scott, Kuwait |November 2018

    Customer service

    Cost

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Gold

    Michel, Mui Ne |November 2018

    Contact with a consultant, clear explanations, very good follow-up.

    I did not appreciate to have to make the first payment through a phone call, giving my Credit card details

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Gold

    Jennifer, Shanghai |November 2018

    The staff was very good at calling and following up. I got my questioned answered and also learned about some added benefits.

    I don’t have any

    • Purchase Experience
      8
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Gold

    Laura, London England |November 2018

    Clarity- friendliness- efficiency, empathy, good understanding of issues relevant to my situation.

    None

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Platinum

    Angelo, Dubai |October 2016

    customer service

    exclusions

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Platinum

    Eleni , Limassol / Cyprus |September 2016

    IT COVERS ALSO FOR SHORT TRIP TO USA. ALSO MEMBER CAN CHOOSE ANY DOCTOR OF HIS/HER CHOICE. SETTLEMENT IS ONLY 5 WORKING DAYS. OF COURSE I HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE PLAN. HOPE ALL IS AS STATED IN BROCHURE!

    For Older people premium is rather high.

    • Purchase Experience
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Platinum

    Rex, Stockach |September 2016

    Jonathon provided excellent guidance and follow up!

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Platinum

    Philipp |September 2016

    Very good advice on the policy Very friendly customer service Excellent coverage Very competitive prices

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Platinum

    Delphine, Paris |September 2016

    Insurance seller was very available and came up with the best quote.

    Too many calls.

    • Purchase Experience
      7
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      7

    Platinum

    Martin, Ottawa, Canada |August 2016

    People on the phone were helpful, knowledgeable and the process went very quickly once I'd made up my mind.

    Called me a few times after requesting a quote. I told them I'd call back when I was ready to discuss. On the plus side, they did honor that request.

    • Purchase Experience
      7
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Platinum

    Gerhard, Naples, Fl |July 2016

    Very good service, agent was very helpful overall a very good package

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Platinum

    Tai, El Segundo |July 2016

    Purchase experience abd sales team were very nice, friendly and helpful

    Its very inconceinconvenient to have to get preauthorization for every thing. Often emails are not replied to for over a day. Doctors offices are busy. Its hard to get them to fill out all the paperwork. Also if I have an emergency accident there's time to send rmails back aand forth. There should be an accepted insurance card I can show to a hospital that I can give them. The process now is really a hassle and I've not had such inconvenience with other insurance companies

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      7
    • Overall Rating
      3

    Platinum

    Marijke, Geneva |July 2016

    I received a quote soon after requesting one. Soon thereafter I was called and I could ask all my questions. We were also in touch via email. The policy documents were very clear. The whole process was clear, fast and easy.

    No bad points

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Platinum

    Cagla, Amsterdam |June 2016

    i used cigna before when working in Germany. i didn't have any problems. Everything was smooth. i uploaded documents/claims online and worked perfectly. i gave it 8 because the system does not always work on time. for example now i accessed and it tells me that "your policy is not found"

    nothing.

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      8
    • Overall Rating
      8

    Platinum

    Carlos, Luanda |June 2016

    Good in the past, will see now.

    No coverage in the USA and limited at home. :-(

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Platinum

    Eliana , Dongguan, China |May 2016

    - very simple and to the point webpage, just one question that got almost immediate reply by means of a phone call from a friendly operator

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Platinum

    Tim, Pranburi |April 2016

    Fully comprehensive with clear documents

    A little expensive

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      10
    • Overall Rating
      10

    Platinum

    Susanna, Reykjavik |April 2016

    My son and me, both are with CIGNA since a short time and appreciated the speed and clear information on all the questions we have had. Always nice support on the phone.

    Reviewer did not leave a comment

    • Purchase Experience
      10
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Platinum

    Alejandro, Arlington, Va, Usa |February 2016

    Great Customer services

    NA

    • Purchase Experience
      9
    • Product Benefits
      9
    • Overall Rating
      9

    Cigna is used by over 95 million customers worldwide. Join them.

    TOP